Where does rugby come from?

Rugby is said to have originated at Rugby School in Warwickshire, England, in 1823 when during a game of football, William Webb Ellis decided to pick up a ball and go with it. Although there is very little evidence to support this theory, the Rugby World Cup Trophy is now named after William Webb Ellis.

In 1863 a collection of boarding schools and clubs decided upon a rule set and 1871 Rugby Football Union was officially formed. That same year, the first ever international match was played between England and Scotland with Scotland taking the win 1-0.


England in white and Scotland in brown, for the first ever international game in 1871

Summer Olympics

In 1900, rugby union was introduced to the Summer Olympics by Pierre de Coubertin, who had previously refereed the first French domestic championship as well as France's first international game. France, Germany and Great Britain all entered teams for the oplympics, and France won gold by defeating both opponents.
Rugby actually drew the largest crowd at that particular games - it was next played at the 1908 games in London, with Australia winning, by defeating Great Britain.
Even though rugby drew some of the biggest crowds at the games, it was eventually dropped in 1924.

By 1908 all three major Southern Hemisphere nations (New Zealand, Australia and South Africa) had formed teams and sent them on international trips to play against the Northern Hemisphere nations. As a side fact, the first time the Haka was performed by New Zealand prior to a match was in 1905, which the Welsh responded to by having Teddy Morgan sing the Welsh national anthem. Soon enough the crowd joined in, which was the first time a national anthem was sung prior to a sporting event.

The Rugby World Cup

The first Rugby World Cup was played in 1987 and was held in Australia and New Zealand - both semi-finals were played in Australia while the final was played in New Zealand, with the All Blacks defeating France in the final.

First Rugby World Cup 1987

England hosted the second world cup, losing to Australia in the final.

By the 3rd rugby world cup, South Africa were back from international exile, and were able to not only host the tournament, but also beat the All Blacks in the final. The tournament became a turning point for South Africa as well, as then President Nelson Mandela, was able to hand over the William Webb Ellis trophy, to Francois Pienaar, dressed in a Springbok jersey which had long been a symbol of apartheid.

The 4th world cup was held in Wales. Australia won the tournament by defeating France in the final after France had made a massive come back by defeating the All Blacks in the semi-finals.
Australia hosted the 5th tournament, and for the 3rd time in world cup history made it to the finals. Most rugby fans will remember this final game, as it was extremely closely fought, going in to extra time, and England ultimately winning after an epic last minute drop goal by Johnny Wilkinson.

Johnny Wilkinson's winning kick 2003.

This rugby world cup was hosted by France, however some matches were also played in Wales and Scotland. South Africa ended up claiming their second win, by defeating England in the finals.

The All Blacks hosted the 2011 rugby world, and claimed the William Webb Ellis trophy after a very close game, defeating France 8-7 in the finals.

England hosted the 2015 world cup. The home nation were set as favorites, however they had a disappointing campaign. The All Blacks played Australia in the final, not only beating them and re-gaining their title, but becoming the first ever team in rugby world cup history to win three titles, as well as defend their title.

Re-introduction to the Olympics
In 2009 the International Olympic Committee voted to return a form of rugby to the Olympics and Rugby Sevens was officially back on the scene, in the 2016 Rio Janeiro games.


Fiji won gold for the men's tournament  


Australia won gold for the women's tournament

Hold i dag